Monday, October 20, 2008

Capital Food Fight on November 11

Capital Food Fight on November 11 at Ronald Reagan Building

Year after year this event turns out DC top chefs and culinary obsessed patrons. Get your tickets quickly because this event will sell out.

This year top area chefs will take the stage to combat hunger at Capital Food Fight on November 11. Ted Allen will co-host with event chair José Andrés as hot chefs Stephen Lewandowski, David Deshaies, Tony Conte and Peter Smith vie in on-stage cooking battles to take the championship from last year’s Capital Food Fight winner Barton Seaver. Judges include the Food Network’s Dave Lieberman and Chef Rock, winner on FOX-TV’s 2007 Hell’s Kitchen. While the Battling Chefs duke it out, guests will savor fantastic dishes from 50 of the best restaurants in town—think of it as a 50-course dinner! Without a doubt, the Capital Food Fight has become the hottest foodie event around.

This is the fifth year for the Capital Food Fight, which has raised over $1,000,000 to combat hunger and create opportunity through the programs of DC Central Kitchen, a national model program that uses the existing ingredients of society to satisfy hunger, promote self-sufficiency and change lives. Locally, the Kitchen recycles 1 ½ tons of surplus food daily to make 4,500 meals for area social service organizations. It also empowers chronically unemployed men and women in the kitchen and life skills they need to get and keep good jobs in the food service industry. Campus Kitchens on 15 college campuses use the DC Central Kitchen model to serve their community and train young leaders.

Ronald Reagan Building & International Trade Center
1300 Pennsylvania Avenue NW,
Washington DC, 20006
(photo ID required)

Tuesday, November 11, 2008, 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Ticket purchase or sponsorship on-line at
Individual tickets $175; sponsorship opportunities $1,000 25,000

BATTLING CHEFS: Barton Seaver (defending champion), David Deshaies (Citronelle), Peter Smith (PS7’s), Tony Conte (The Oval Room), Stephen Lewandowski (Tribeca Grill NY)

1789 Restaurant – 2491 Restaurant – 701 Pennsylvania Avenue - Agraria - Argia's Italian– Bastille – Bebo Trattoria - Berliner Speciality Distributors – Black Salt – BLT Steak – Bobby Van’s Grill –- Cacao Fine European Chocolate - Café Atlantico – Charlie Palmer Steak – Chef Geoff’s – Citronelle Michel Richard – Darlington House - Farrah Olivia by Morou – Firefly - Fresh Start Catering – fyve – Hank's Oyster Bar – Hook - Hudson - Indique - Kaz Sushi Bistro - Lebanese Taverna – Mie N Yu – Neyla – Oceanaire Seafood Room - Olives – The Oval Room – Post Modern Brasserie - PS7's – Rasika - Rock Creek – The Ronald Reagan Building – Sam & Harry’s – Santa Lucia Estate Coffee – Taberna del Alabardero – Tallula - Vermilion – Vidalia/Bistro Bis – Volt – Wegmans Market Café – Willow – Zengo - Zola

Jeffrey Buben Vidalia / Bistro Bis - Anthony Chittum Vermilion 2006 Champion - Roberto Donna Galileo / Bebo Trattoria 2006 Champion - Tim Elliott Mie N Yu - Katsuya Fukushima Café Atlántico - Vikram Garg IndeBleu - Greggory Hill David Greggory - Bob Kinkead Kinkead’s - Ris Lacoste 2004 & 2005 Champion - Cesare Lanfranconi Tosca - Jamie Leeds Hank’s Oyster Bar - Kaz Okochi Kaz Sushi Bistro - Ken Oringer Clio / Uni (Boston) - Morou Ouattara Farrah Olivia - Marcus Samuelsson Aquavit (NY) – Fabio Trabocchi Maestro - John Wabeck Firefly - Robert Wiedmaier Marcel’s / Beck - Santi Zabaleta Taberna del Alabardero
Bryan Voltaggio Charlie Palmer Steak – RJ Cooper Vidalia – Cathal Armstrong Restaurant Eve – Barton Seaver Hook